National 4

National 4 Mathematics

The National 4 Mathematics Course enables learners to select and apply straightforward mathematical skills in a variety of mathematical and real-life situations. Learners interpret, communicate and manage information in mathematical form.

The National 4 course consists of 3 internal units:
Unit 1: Expressions and Formulae
Unit 2: Numeracy Unit 3: Relationships

At the end of each assessment, pupils will sit an internal Unit assessment which must be passed in order to sit the end of course assessment.

After pupils have completed the course and achieved a pass in each of the three internal Units then they will sit an end of course examination.

End of Course Examination

This is an SQA assessment called the Added Value Test and must be completed under exam conditions. This assessment will be issued on completion of the course and does not need to take place in the May diet of examinations.

The Added Value Test comprises of 2 parts:
Part 1 is a Non-Calculator section with a time limit of 20 minutes.
Part 2 is a Calculator section with a time limit of 40 minutes.

In order to gain a National 4 qualification and progress to National 5, pupils must achieve at least 60% in the Added Value Assessment and have passed all 3 internal Unit assessments.

As part of the 2 year course, successful pupils will progress onto National 5. For those pupils who are not ready to sit National 5 Mathematics at the end of S5, we provide pupils with the opportunity of achieving a National 5 Numeracy Award as well as a National 4 qualification.

For more information, click on the link below: